April 4 ballot includes 65 school referendums

Wisconsin school districts, many of which are facing ongoing funding challenges, will continue the trend of turning to local voters on April 4 to help finance infrastructure as well as basic education resources. Voters will find 65 school referendums on Tuesday’s ballots, and that’s on top of 122 referendums that were approved last year.

The largest referendums this spring include:

  • Verona: $162.7 million for construction of new high school and auditorium, renovation and reconfiguration of current Verona Area High School and Badger Ridge Middle School, district-wide capital and building infrastructure improvements and repairs and acquisition of related furnishings, fixtures and equipment. Two other referendums seek $18.5 million for a swimming pool and athletic fields, and $2.2 million to exceed the revenue cap for operational expense for new facilities and grounds. Verona is a rapidly growing suburb of Madison and home of Epic Systems, which employs nearly 10,000 people. Read more.
  • Green Bay: $165 million to exceed the revenue limit on a non-recurring basis of 10 years ($16.5 million per year) to allow the district to approach the state average consisting of: maintaining educational programming and class sizes; and retaining staff. Also, $68.2 million for a district-wide school building and facilities improvement plan. Read more.
  • Burlington: $94.4 million (3 referendums) to construct and equip a new middle school, a new performing arts center, additional gym and athletic space at the high school, and district-wide building and infrastructure improvements. Read more.

School districts with referendums this spring are: Amery, Barron, Wisconsin Heights, Pecatonica, Bonduel, Burlington (3), Cameron, Clintonville, Cuba City, (2), Denmark (2), Eleva-Strum(2), Grafton, Green Bay (2), Arrowhead, Hayward, Southwestern Wisconsin (2), Holmen (3), Howard-Suamico, Hustisford, Little Chute (2), Mayville, Menomonee Falls, Mosinee (4), Mount Horeb, Riverdale, Necedah, North Fond du Lac (2), Oconto Falls, Parkview, Osceola, Pardeeville (3), Rosholt (2) Saint Croix Falls, Salem, Seymour, Southern Door, Thorp (2), Tomahawk, Turtle Lake, Verona (3), Wabeno (2), Washington, West Allis, and Yorkville.

For a description of all the school referendums on the April 4 ballot in  Wisconsin, visit this Department of Public Instruction web page.